Past Seminars

Saturday September 16, 2017 8:40 AM
Location: Ramo Auditorium
Wednesday August 16, 2017 10:30 AM
Location: JPL
Monday August 7, 2017 4:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Leveraged Gaussian Process Regression: Learning from Do's and Don'ts"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday August 7, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Reducing Latencies in Earthquake Early Warning
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday July 5, 2017 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Proliferation of Twinning in HCP Metals: Application to Magnesium Alloys
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday June 2, 2017 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
The Avatar Paradigm in Granular Materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Order and Chaos*: Collective Behavior of Crowded Drops in Microfluidic Systems”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"High‐fidelity probabilistic model identification and monitoring of nonlinear dynamical systems"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday May 19, 2017 3:30 PM
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thursday May 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Machine Learning + Physics"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday May 15, 2017 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Effective toughness of heterogeneous materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Geo-Alchemy: Carbonate Precipitation for Hazard Mitigation and Ground Improvement”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday May 10, 2017 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
The deformations of thin nematic elastomer sheets
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 4, 2017 4:00 PM
"Powered by Beer Cans"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday April 28, 2017 8:00 AM
Thursday April 27, 2017 4:00 PM
James Michelin Distinguished Visitors Program
Building Science: Multiple Agendas
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thursday April 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Carbon-based nanomaterials: from combustion nanoparticles to chiral nanomaterials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Physics-Based Approaches to Model Form Uncertainty Quantification for Large Eddy Simulation of Turbulent Combustion"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Histotripsy: Focused ultrasound surgery based on nucleation of bubbles in tissue"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Phase Mechanics” of arrested colloidal gels: A new paradigm for yielding and phase transitions in soft matter”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday March 24, 2017 11:30 AM
Location: JPL, von Karman Auditorium
Monday March 13, 2017 7:00 PM
Thursday March 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Characterizing thixotropy of fresh cement-based systems modified by clays”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Location: Beckman Institute Lawn
Wednesday March 8, 2017 4:00 PM
Environmental Science and Engineering Seminar
Bioelectrochemical Systems (BESs) for Energy Recovery from Wastewater
Location: South Mudd 365
Thursday March 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Bubble dynamics near and in soft materials"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Controlling Nanocrystalline Structure and Properties with Segregation Engineering”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
TBD
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday February 13, 2017 9:00 AM
Thursday February 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Quantum Spillover, Chiral Plasmons and Controllable Quenching of Super-radiance in Deep Subwavelength Optical Coatings”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday February 3, 2017 12:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thursday February 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Building a Better Mousetrap – The Continuing Quest for More Reliable Models of Clay Behavior"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Fundamental Studies of High-Pressure Multi-Species Turbulent Mixing and Combustion"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday January 25, 2017 11:00 AM
The Office of Naval Research Science and Technology in Support of the US Navy and Marine Corps
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Soft Living Materials and Machines: From Theory to Design"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Physical Properties of Surface Materials on Mars and Selection of the InSight Landing Site”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Discovery and Control of Nonlinear Dynamical Systems from Data”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday December 7, 2016 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Computational modeling of the mechanics of elastic structural lattices: effects of lattice architecture and hierarchy
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday December 5, 2016 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Computational modeling of the mechanics of elastic structural lattices: effects of lattice architecture and hierarchy
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Thursday December 1, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Evolving Boundaries with Explicit Parametric Geometry”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 17, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Adaptive coupling between damaged mechanics and peridynamics: A route for objective simulation of material degradation up to complete failure"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday November 11, 2016 1:00 PM
“Hazard-compatible stochastic ground motion modeling & Mitigating seismic risk in the developing world: lessons learned in Haiti and promotion of alternative residential-housing solutions”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 10, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Design under Uncertainty through Integration of Stochastic Simulation and Surrogate Modeling Principles”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday November 8, 2016 10:00 AM
Thursday November 3, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 27, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Scaling Limits in Networked Control System”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 20, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Realistic grain shapes in the discrete element method with dilated polyhedral”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 13, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Enabling large eddy simulations of realistic turbulent flows"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 6, 2016 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Phonon spectroscopy and thermal transport using predictive atomistic simulations”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday September 29, 2016 4:00 PM
Chemical Engineering Seminar
Nanoscale biophotonics and its applications in life sciences and medicine
Location: Spalding Laboratory 106 (Hartley Memorial Seminar Room)