Past Seminars

Friday August 10, 2018 2:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Controlling the buckling behavior of bilayered systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Wednesday June 20, 2018 10:30 AM
Thursday May 31, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Design and Fabrication of Compliant Structures, Mechanisms, and Materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday May 25, 2018 1:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Improving Seismic Collapse Risk Assessments of Steel Moment Frame Buildings
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 24, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Has Performance Based Engineering Broken the Power Law?”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 17, 2018 4:00 PM
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 15, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 10, 2018 2:30 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Modeling of Nucleation and Dynamic Rupture on Heterogeneous Frictional Interfaces with Applications to Foreshocks
Location: South Mudd 365
Thursday May 10, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Avian Inspired Design"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday May 9, 2018 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Observations of Failure Phenomena in Periodic Media
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Tuesday May 8, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Friday May 4, 2018 9:00 AM
Thursday May 3, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Answering a Qualifying Exam Question"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 1, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday April 26, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Sequential Mechanical Metamaterials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday April 24, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday April 19, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Programming dynamic behaviors in molecular systems and materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday April 17, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Nonlinear Elasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Friday April 13, 2018 3:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Thermal transport in three-dimensional nanoarchitected materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 12, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mechanics-Guided, Deterministic 3D Assembly”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 5, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mechanics, Manufacture, and Validation for Electronic Tattoos”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Structures as Sensors: Indirect Monitoring of Humans and Surrounding Through Structural Vibrations
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday March 12, 2018 7:00 PM
Location: Jorgensen Lobby
Thursday March 8, 2018 4:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Mathematics and Learning for Agile and Dynamic Bipedal Locomotion”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Location: Beckman Mall
Monday March 5, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Hybrid Dynamical Systems for Robust Control, Optimization, and Learning in Societal Systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday March 2, 2018 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Stimulus-Response Behavior of Liquid Crystal Elastomers and Gels
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday March 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Folding gels and shells: Geometric design principles for reconfigurable materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday February 27, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Tackling Infrastructure Resiliency through Structural Modeling and Mechanics
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday February 23, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Flexible water supply infrastructure planning under uncertainty: Learning and adapting for resilience
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 22, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Coastal Risks in the Oil and Gas Industry: Vulnerability of Storage Tanks to Severe Storms”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday February 21, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Toward a Resilient 21st Century
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Smaller Than the Eye Can See: Vibration Analysis with Video Cameras
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Topological Mechanics of Critically Coordinated Lattices"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday February 7, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Machine Learning and Big Data Analytics Enabled Integrity Assessment of Urban Buildings
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Personalized model of kinematic and dynamic of physical activities”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday January 26, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Data-driven Infrastructure Informatics in Smart and Resilient Cities
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 25, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Big Data — A New Research Frontier In Earthquake Engineering”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
TBD
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Physics based modeling and data analytics for infrastructure system resilience
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 11, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Bioinspired algorithmic-driven design of additively manufactured materials"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday January 10, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Crystal Adaptronics: Dynamic and Soft-Matter-Like Properties of Molecular Crystals
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday January 4, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Network Monitoring and Inspection for Infrastructure Resilience”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday December 1, 2017 2:00 PM
Thursday November 30, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Unification through disarray: harnessing disorder at the attachment of tendon to bone"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Fundamental Solutions in Elastodynamics: Pathologies, Outright Errors, and Paradoxes"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday November 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Engineering and Applied Science Lecture
Study of Human Diseases at the Intersections of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday November 15, 2017 10:00 AM
Thursday November 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Towards mechanics using quantum mechanics”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Urban Physics: Is L.A. A Liquid Or A Solid? A Quantitative Approach to Cities Sustainability and Resilience"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135