Past Seminars

Thursday February 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Smaller Than the Eye Can See: Vibration Analysis with Video Cameras
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Topological Mechanics of Critically Coordinated Lattices"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday February 7, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Machine Learning and Big Data Analytics Enabled Integrity Assessment of Urban Buildings
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Personalized model of kinematic and dynamic of physical activities”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday January 26, 2018 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Data-driven Infrastructure Informatics in Smart and Resilient Cities
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 25, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Big Data — A New Research Frontier In Earthquake Engineering”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
TBD
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Physics based modeling and data analytics for infrastructure system resilience
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 11, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Bioinspired algorithmic-driven design of additively manufactured materials"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday January 10, 2018 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Crystal Adaptronics: Dynamic and Soft-Matter-Like Properties of Molecular Crystals
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday January 4, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Network Monitoring and Inspection for Infrastructure Resilience”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday December 1, 2017 2:00 PM
Thursday November 30, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Unification through disarray: harnessing disorder at the attachment of tendon to bone"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Fundamental Solutions in Elastodynamics: Pathologies, Outright Errors, and Paradoxes"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday November 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Engineering and Applied Science Lecture
Study of Human Diseases at the Intersections of Engineering, Sciences and Medicine
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday November 15, 2017 10:00 AM
Thursday November 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Towards mechanics using quantum mechanics”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Urban Physics: Is L.A. A Liquid Or A Solid? A Quantitative Approach to Cities Sustainability and Resilience"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Scalable Thermal Energy Engineering Technologies"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday October 25, 2017 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Laboratory studies of granular materials under shear: from avalanches to force chains.
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Monday October 23, 2017 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Coherent structures, their interactions, and their effects on passive scalar transport and aero-optic distortion in a turbulent boundary layer
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Thursday October 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Dynamics, Feedback, and Transient Antibiotic Resistance in Single Cells"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Time dependent fluid mechanics at nanometer length scales"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday October 9, 2017 6:10 PM
Thursday October 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Building monitoring for damage evaluation using seismic waves and deconvolution interferometry"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 5, 2017 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Numerical methods for fluid-structure interaction, and their application to flag flapping
Location: Guggenheim 133 (Lees-Kubota Lecture Hall)
Monday October 2, 2017 9:30 AM
Location: Ramo Auditorium
Thursday September 28, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“The Non-Linear Mechanics of Slender Deformable Bodies”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Saturday September 16, 2017 8:40 AM
Location: Ramo Auditorium
Wednesday August 16, 2017 10:30 AM
Location: JPL
Monday August 7, 2017 4:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Leveraged Gaussian Process Regression: Learning from Do's and Don'ts"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday August 7, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Reducing Latencies in Earthquake Early Warning
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday July 5, 2017 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Proliferation of Twinning in HCP Metals: Application to Magnesium Alloys
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday June 2, 2017 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
The Avatar Paradigm in Granular Materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday May 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Order and Chaos*: Collective Behavior of Crowded Drops in Microfluidic Systems”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Tuesday May 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"High‐fidelity probabilistic model identification and monitoring of nonlinear dynamical systems"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday May 19, 2017 3:30 PM
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thursday May 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Machine Learning + Physics"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday May 15, 2017 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Effective toughness of heterogeneous materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Geo-Alchemy: Carbonate Precipitation for Hazard Mitigation and Ground Improvement”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Wednesday May 10, 2017 9:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
The deformations of thin nematic elastomer sheets
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 4, 2017 4:00 PM
"Powered by Beer Cans"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday April 28, 2017 8:00 AM
Thursday April 27, 2017 4:00 PM
James Michelin Distinguished Visitors Program
Building Science: Multiple Agendas
Location: Cahill, Hameetman Auditorium
Thursday April 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Carbon-based nanomaterials: from combustion nanoparticles to chiral nanomaterials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Physics-Based Approaches to Model Form Uncertainty Quantification for Large Eddy Simulation of Turbulent Combustion"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
"Histotripsy: Focused ultrasound surgery based on nucleation of bubbles in tissue"
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
“Phase Mechanics” of arrested colloidal gels: A new paradigm for yielding and phase transitions in soft matter”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday March 24, 2017 11:30 AM
Location: JPL, von Karman Auditorium
Monday March 13, 2017 7:00 PM