Past Seminars

Friday March 13, 2020 10:00 AM
Thursday March 5, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Utilizing Remote Sensing to Assess the Implication of Tall Building Performance on the Seismic Resilience of Urban Centers
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 27, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Meshfree Method after 20 Years and its New Application to Data-Driven Computational Mechanics
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 20, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Multistable Structures - from Energy Trapping to Morphing
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 13, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Fluctuations in the Life of a Cell: Maintaining Order Amidst Disorder
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday February 10, 2020 4:00 PM
Thursday February 6, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Snapping and Dancing Soft Structures
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 30, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanics of Wrinkled Structures
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 23, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Generalized Fishnet Statistics for Quasibrittle, Biomimetic, Nacreous and Architectured Materials: Design for Failure Probability <10-6
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 16, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
History of the Free Body Diagram
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 9, 2020 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Materials Innovations for Emerging Energy Technologies
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday December 6, 2019 12:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Observations of Ground Deformation along the 2019 Ridgecrest Ruptures: Implications for Fault Displacement Hazard Analysis
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday November 21, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
CANCELED - Growth, Instability, and Failure: Bringing Order into the Chaos of Natural Phenomena
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 14, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Elephant Olfaction and a Wombat's Cubic Feces
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 7, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Spectral POD and Resolvent Analysis of Turbulent Flows
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 31, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
The Simulation and Modeling of Turbulent Flows
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 24, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Accelerating Scale Bridging via Surrogate Modeling
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 17, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
The Timing of Soil Liquefaction and Its Potential for Improving Liquefaction Hazard Evaluation
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 10, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
From Patterned Sheets to Functional Morphing Structures
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 3, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Autonomous Decision Making under Uncertainty in Engineering Systems: Finding Optimal Dynamic Paths in Immense Spaces
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 23, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Simulation-Based Optimization Methods for High-Dimensional Urban Transportation Problems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 16, 2019 4:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Resolved Simulations of Particulate Flows
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 9, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Extracellular Matrix Viscoelasticity and its Impact on Cells
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 2, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Programmable Structures: Shape and Property Reconfiguration
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 25, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Measurement of Power Law Creep Parameters by Nanoindentation
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 18, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Architected Materials for Adaptive Energy Absorption and Bioinspired Self-Adaptable Materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 11, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Intergranular Strain Localization Patterns in Extremely Anisotropic Polycrystalline Aggregates of Magnesium
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 4, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Learning in Human-Robot Interaction: Optimization as an Inductive Bias
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 28, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 14, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Uncertainties, Risk, and Learning in Engineering Systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 14, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 7, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Instabilities and Phase Transitions in Multiphase Flow through Porous Media.
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 28, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Data-assisted high-fidelity modeling for systems design and monitoring.
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 21, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Expanding ocean utilization through symbiotic offshore systems.
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 14, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Higher Order Methods for Simulating Curvilinear Crack Propagation
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 7, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
TBD
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 31, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Breaking Badly: Chasing Fractures from Tectonic to Table-Top Scales
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 24, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Seismicity-Permeability Coupling in Reservoirs and Caprocks - CANCELED
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 17, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
When Zebrafish Met Engineering
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 10, 2019 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Settling of Cohesive Sediment: Particle-resolved Simulations
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday December 6, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Soft Materials for Soft Machines
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 29, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Control Theory for Synthetic Biology: From Fundamentals to Application
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 15, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
The Route Towards Graphene Composites
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 8, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Sparse Structural System Identification of Nonlinear Systems
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 1, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Recovery of Function in Major Spinal Cord Injury using Spinal Stimulatio
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 25, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Some Recent Developments in Simulation of Stochastic Processes and Fields
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 18, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Extreme Events in Complex Dynamical Systems: Prediction and Statistical Quantification
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 11, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Starting Robotic Industry on the Moon and Mars
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 4, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanics and Chemistry in Designing Polymers
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 31, 2018 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
“Design and Fabrication of Compliant Structures, Mechanisms, and Materials”
Location: Gates-Thomas 135