Past Seminars

Friday December 2, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Model-Based Lower-Limb Powered Prosthesis Control: Developing and Realizing Nonlinear Subsystem Control Methods for Generalizable Prosthesis Control
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday December 1, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Simulating solids like fluids: A fully Eulerian approach to fluid-structure interaction
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 17, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Toward a Model-Based Qualification Paradigm for Metal Additive Manufacturing
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 10, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Modeling Ductile and Brittle Fracture of Polycrystals
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 27, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Statistical Mechanics of Immiscible Two-Phase Flow in Porous Media
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 20, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Reaction Fronts in Porous Media
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 13, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Fragmentation in Turbulent Multiphase Flows
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 6, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Thermo-Mechanics of Granular Materials: Experiments and Simulations
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday September 29, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Tailoring Molecular Topology to Control the Mechanical Properties of Polymeric and Nanoparticle Networks
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday July 7, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Design, Fabrication, and Mechanical Analysis of Intertwined and Frictional Micro-architected Materials
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday May 27, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Foundations and applications of single-cell RNA sequencing
Location: Beckman Behavioral Biology B180
Thursday May 26, 2022 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Autonomous Temporal Understanding and State Estimation during Robot-Assisted Surgery"
Location:
Thursday May 19, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Concentration enrichment, separation, and ion exchange in nanoliter-scale water-in-oil droplets
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 19, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Safe Input Regulation for Robotic Systems
Location: Gates Annex B122
Tuesday May 17, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Creating ARCHER: A 3D Hopping Robot with Flywheels for Attitude Control
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 12, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Poroelastic Spherical Indentation for Material Characterization
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday May 5, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Adaptive and Sensory Machines: From Active Foam to Swimming Rheometers
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 28, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 21, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday April 14, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday April 11, 2022 3:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Autonomous Mission-Driven Robots in Extreme Environments"
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday April 7, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Structural Computing: Leveraging Mechanics for Information Processing
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday April 1, 2022 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Charge and heat transport in non-metallic crystals using first-principles Boltzmann transport theory"
Location:
Thursday March 31, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
The DARPA Grand Challenges: A Caltech Perspective
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday March 3, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanistic Insights into Crystalline Interfaces via Thermal Fluctuations
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 24, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Morphing Materials and Multifunctional Structures: From Mechanics to Applications
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 17, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Graphene: from point defects to tunable twins
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 10, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Scaling of Triggered Seismicity and Permeability Evolution in the Subsurface – A Key Need in the Energy Transition
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday February 3, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Multifunctional Bioinspired Composites
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday January 28, 2022 8:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Accelerated computational micromechanics"
Location:
Thursday January 27, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Elastic wave control through topology and curvature
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 20, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Nonlinear Dynamics of Soft Filaments
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday January 13, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
New experimental approaches for measuring and controlling fluid flows
Location: Online Event
Thursday January 6, 2022 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
How colloidal physics instantiate life in biological cells
Location: Online Event
Friday December 10, 2021 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Investigation of electronic fluctuations in semiconductor materials and devices through first-principles simulations and experiments in transistor amplifiers"
Location:
Tuesday December 7, 2021 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Slip Patterns on Heterogeneous Frictional Interfaces
Location: Online Event
Thursday December 2, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Machine learning in solid mechanics: improving modeling and design
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 18, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Granular and particle-laden flow: Novel approaches to characterize avalanches and dunes across scales
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 11, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Micro-continuum approach for the multi-scale modeling of coupled processes in the subsurface
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday November 4, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Data-driven mechanics – the challenge to model inelastic material behaviour and structures
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 28, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Cellular NeuroMechanics – Concussions, Traumatic Brain Injury and the mysterious Havana Syndrome
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 21, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Acoustically Levitated Granular Matter
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Thursday October 14, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Earthquake sequence simulations with fault zone fluid flow, pore pressure evolution, and viscoelasticity
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Friday October 8, 2021 3:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
"Koopman-based Learning and Control of Agile Robotic Systems"
Location: Gates-Thomas 115
Thursday October 7, 2021 11:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
The Mechanics of Slow Slip
Location: Gates-Thomas 135
Monday September 13, 2021 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar
Location: Online Event
Tuesday August 17, 2021 1:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Modeling and Programming Shape-Morphing Structured Media
Location: Online Event
Tuesday August 17, 2021 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Instabilities in the Flow Over a Spinning Disk at Angle of Attack
Location: Online Event
Tuesday June 29, 2021 10:00 AM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Modeling and Parameterization of Basin Effects for Engineering Design Applications
Location: Online Event
Wednesday June 23, 2021 2:00 PM
Mechanical and Civil Engineering Seminar Series
Applications of Machine Learning to Finite Volume Methods
Location: Online Event